Request a Quote button

Call toll free 1.800.503.3433

Partner with the Leader - Since 1969

Fire Codes and Ordinances

To meet the critical need of fire, police, and medical teams to communicate inside large structures, communities are adopting the International Fire Code, Section 510 regulations.

We are experts at deploying systems that meet local municipal fire codes for radio coverage inside buildings. This requires specific technical design requirements and testing requirements. These systems must be installed and tested by FCC licensed technicians. They must be re-tested every year to maintain proper operation.

Fire code DAS installations must be approved by the local authority, typically the fire marshal. Design and installation and system testing must be coordinated with the public safety radio system operator.

Although local agencies can enhance their fire code, key elements require:

  • minimal signal level of -95 dBm in 90% of the structure
  • back-up power for 24 hours of operation
  • applies to structures of 50,000 sg. ft. or those with below ground floors
  • coverage test using a 20 grid or 40 grid process
  • annual certification of equipment with grid coverage test and one hour battery test
  • must be tested by an FCC licensed or factory certified technician

Here are links to state fire codes, however, local jurisdictions may enforce amended versions or use older codebooks.


The 2014 Oregon Fire Code (OFC) which is the 2012 International Fire Code with amendments becomes effective on July 1, 2014. There is a three month phase-in period from July 1 through September 30 for new construction plan reviews only. Please check with your local building official to determine whether the 2010 or 2014 Oregon Fire Code shall be used.


The 2012 International Building Codes became effective in Washington State on July 1, 2013. This code family consists of the International Building Code (IBC), the International Residential Code (IRC), the International Mechanical Code (IMC), the International Fire Code (IFC) and 2012 Washington State Energy Code.


California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 24, is also known as the California Building Standards Code. Here is a link to Part 9, California Fire Code.